Full time Mummy

For the last 3 days I’ve been on a course and had to leave my son with his grandparents. I’ve missed him like crazy and had a brilliant welcome from him as soon as I got home each day. 

This has reassured me that I’ve definitely done the right thing by not going back to work yet. I don’t want to regret going back too soon. It’s only been 3 days, so I’ve not missed much in his life, and it’s been great for him to spend time with his grandparents (& for his grandparents to spend time with him!), but I couldn’t imagine having to do that every week. Week in, week out. I just couldn’t do it. I know some mums do because they want to or because they have to, and I’m so grateful and thankful to God that at this moment in time we can (just about) survive off one wage so that I can take time out for him. Priorities change when you have a child. I’m happy to miss out on eating out, takeaways, branded food, new clothes and other luxuries if it means I can spend more time with my son. 

Do I miss work? Yes and no. I miss the job I had, but I don’t miss it as much as I thought I would. There’s a time for everything, and right now is my time to be a mum and a wife. That’s my focus in life now. And, I’ll say it again, I am so thankful to God that I can be a full time mum right now. 

Leave a Reply

